Collective Soul: Youth

i was understandably sad when i heard the news that ross childress is quitting the band. could this band holds on to their great riffs and lyrics that still full of notion? and to make it worse…the next thing i know, they went to a long hiatus…

but by the end of 2004, i heard they were releasing their latest album, and my worries, are proved wrong.

youth, their latest album, showed that they still have the energy to produce good lyrics along with melodic guitars riff that blast. ed roland still manage to wrote original lyricy fulll of purpose, passion and spiritual notion. he put aside the the typical angst that hyming from most alternative bands these days.

joel kosche fit the bill in his own style, filling up the void left by ross childress. try to listen to “there is a way”, and you’ll know what i mean. another credit to ed roland for not loosing his ability to write a soulful song. listen to “satellite” a song dedicated to his son. “better now” has some unique surprise as well… you’ll find a saxophone filling there…

over all, maybe the sound was a little bit pop-ish, but the band still fulfilling my expectation.
so i have no complain.
great album by a great band.

collective soul are:
ed roland: guitar/vocal
dean roland: rythm guitar
joel kosche: lead guitar
will turpin: bass/backing vocals
shane evans: drums

track listing:
1. better now
2. there’s a way
3. home
4. how do you love
5. him
6. feels like
7. perfect to stay
8. counting the days
9. under heaven’s sky
10. general attitude
11. satellite