when i heard this album for the very first time, i was expecting all guitar tunes all the way.
instead, later, i found myself nodding my head along the tunes and while doing that, i kept raising my left eyebrow; digesting all the surprise that is.

did i just hear a mix of hip hop in “geek in the pink”?, the swaying latin in “bella luna”?, a piano ballad in “mr curiosity”?

is this really mraz?

sure, i can still find guitar strumming in “clock watching” and “wordplay” and his tongue twisting speed singing is still there, but boy, did he evolve or what? surely in a good way.

i also like his collaboration with rachel yamagata in “did you get my message”, a song which i found quite funny, you know, talking the gaps of communication between men and women..

anyway, if you like “waiting my rocket to come” you’ll like this album.

don’t worry, you will able to find that singalong mood dragging you all the way up.. that is. guaranteed.

1. Life is Wonderful
2. Wordplay
3. Geek in the Pink
4. Did You Get My Message?***
5. Mr. Curiosity***
6. Clockwatching
7. Bella Luna***
8. Plane
9. O. Lover
10. Please Don’t Tell Her
11. Forecast
12. Song For a Friend

*picked track

17 thoughts on “Review: Mr. A-Z

  1. hahaha, perasaan gw udah lama deh posting hal yang sama di LJ ^ ^menurut gw, suara si Mraz ini angelic banget. You gotta ehar him singing Queen’s “Good Old Fashioned Lover Boy”, asli bikin merinding.

  2. cluelesspsycho said: Killer Queen, along with other singers/musician such as Sum 41…. oh *dies* Sum 41 singing Killer Queen…

    wait. ini album yg beli di soho itu bukan ya?

  3. cluelesspsycho said: tapi gara2nya gw beli ni album, gw liat klipnya di MTV pas lagi fitness, Geek in the Pink, dia pake kaus pink ada tulisannya “OTAKU” gitu… gw pikir lucu juga ni orang (hahahaha…)

    tadi gw mau upload 2 lagu. tp mandeg di tengah jalan.. bandwith kampret!

  4. di lagu bella luna dibantuin sama ‘raul midon’ yg ngisi rythem gitarnya..nah gantian jason duet di album raul midon..ada lagu yg judulnya ‘keep on hoping’..lu pasti suka!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s